| Oxford Owl | Free levelled eBook library | 3–11 | Free (registration needed) | Yes | In the browser; eBooks are tablet-friendly | Not stated |
|---|
| Library apps | Borrow your library's ebooks and audiobooks | All ages; the children's choice depends on your library | Free with your library membership | Yes | BorrowBox: iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle Fire. Libby: phones, tablets, web, Kindle | Yes (Libby downloads to read offline) |
|---|
| Reading Eggs | Learn-to-read programme: phonics to comprehension | 2–13 (Reading Eggs 3–7, Fast Phonics 5–10, Reading Eggspress 7–13) | £6.99 a month or £54.99 a year for up to 4 children (£9.99 or £79.99 with maths) | No free plan | Web on desktops and tablets; iOS and Android apps | Not stated (printable worksheets) |
|---|
| Night Zookeeper | Reading and writing programme, set as an adventure | 6–12 | £11.99 a month, £27.99 a quarter or £99.99 a year for one child; more for each extra child | No free plan | Browser on tablets, PCs and laptops; iOS app for iPad and iPhone | Not stated |
|---|
| Epic | Digital library: 40,000+ books, audiobooks and videos | 12 and under | Website: $13.99 a month or $84.99 a year (US dollars). UK App Store: subscriptions in pounds, including £79.99 a year | Free for teachers and pupils in the school day (Epic School). No free family plan | Computer, tablet or phone | Yes, download books and audiobooks |
|---|
| Teach Your Monster | Phonics and reading games (Teach Your Monster to Read, Reading for Fun) | Teach Your Monster to Read: 3–6 (its App Store listing) | Free on computers. Teach Your Monster to Read app: £8.99 one-off on the UK App Store | Yes, every game is free on computers | Computer browser; iOS, Android and Amazon apps | Not stated |
|---|
| Litsee | Interactive stories: the child chooses what happens next | 5–11 (stories written for reading ages 5–9) | Standard £4.99 a month (15 stories), Premium £6.99 (unlimited), Book Club £19.99 (plus a printed book monthly) | No free plan | Web app in the browser on phones, tablets and computers; no app-store app | No, it needs an internet connection |
|---|